Similar Work

 

Although this video did not inspire my work process, it most definitely influenced me when thinking about my theme and concept. I believe we are far to attached to technology and instead of it bringing us together we are becoming further and further apart. The VHS image’s degrading represents the people moving on to new technologies and also the feeling of being left behind.

Here is an example of VHS generation loss. This video directly inspired the process in which I should take in my instillation, however I would like my video to have a meaning behind it as opposed to just be an image fading away.

The copying was done using two PAL VCRs in SP mode.

(The video is Fading like a flower by Roxette)

Music video by The Buggles performing Video Killed The Radio Star. (C) 1979 Island Records Ltd.

I decided that this video would be perfect for degrading due to it’s association with moving forward in technology. It also has some key lyrics that relate to my theme and concepts

“pictures came and broke your heart, put the blame on VTR”

“we can’t rewind we’ve gone to far”

I like the idea of using magnets to erase visual data and this definitely helped me to decide that I wanted to use analog formats and also that my piece would be most effectively presented in an installation.

Leave a Reply

